Exercise 4: Interpretative Processing

For this exercise I am to take an image that is open to different creative interpretations, I am then to create by post processing three variations in very different styles. I took this image a month ago in Winchester, I love composition of the image and the balance of the two ladies, while the second ladies facial expression really adds an added emotive dimension. In the three images I wanted to show various colourcast techniques while also a couple of specific styles.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This first image is to show the photograph in a very traditional street photography style, black and white and fairly light, I feel I have done this fairly successfully, the image is consistent with black and white street photography, however may be lacking a touch of contrast that could make the coats detail stand out and catch the eye more.

For the second image I wanted to look at a sepia tone, its a photo filter I don’t often use but I found myself considering it when initially editing this image so thought this would be a good opportunity to use it. I first edited the image into black and white, aiming to use more of the contrast than the previous image. I have also then after adding the filter used a vignette to help frame the image and give it a more antique look as is so often considered with sepia.

In this final image I have considered a style that I have used in previous street photography, the best being of a man asleep on a bench in Brighton High Street (http://tinyurl.com/ocmhhzm). By exposing the image so the ladies are both bright and contrasting, giving a real pop to the composition and reducing the back ground it becomes a very vibrant photograph and the juxtaposition of vibrant colour and older ladies adds to the depth of the images attractiveness.

This exercise gave me a lot to think about when considering which image to use and in which ways to edit it, however I found it related to the idea of finding an image within an image with cropping, its seeing that interpretation of an image is purely personal in this sense and can vary greatly. It has certainly taught me to consider the images in more detail when editing them as to the different effect of the images would have on the final representation.

Leave a Reply

